Yes, as a matter of fact I WOULD like to be a part of it.

Kon-Tiki is the raft used by Norwegian explorer and writer Thor Heyerdahl in his 1947 expedition across the Pacific Ocean from South America to the Polynesian Islands. Heyerdahl believed that people from South America could have settled Polynesia in pre-Columbian times. His aim in mounting the Kon-Tiki expedition was to show, by using only the materials and technologies available to those people at the time, that there were no technical reasons to prevent them from having done so -Wikipedia

Like Thor Heyerdahl, I like adventures, and like the Kon-Tiki, I’ve set sail on one. Welcome aboard the Kon-Kiki! All together now: awww! Eye roll.

Look at me, I have a new blog! Friends will not be surprised – this is what, the third or fourth attempt? Each attempt was in earnest – I really, really meant to update more often – but things happened and . . . whatever. My first blog was a genuine personal blog, covering anything that came to my small head. The second focused on my traveling and inevitably the election, and when that ended it sort of fizzled as well. This one is to keep friends and family updated on the goings-on with my big move to New York. I’ve only been here a week but there is A LOT to talk about. Finding an apartment craziness, moving madness, and living without a garbage disposal just to name a few.

Anyway, since the past several years have been full of great adventures I’ve had a lot to talk about . . . but I’ve also always had the comforting notion that I’ll be heading home soon, filling out that little card and claiming that I’ve purchased some stupid yet priceless item, promising that I haven’t come into contact with any goats or am concealing a kumquat in my purse, etc. — but this time there isn’t any homeland security guy welcoming me home, because evidently I’m already there. This is a notion that hasn’t really sunk in as of yet – that I actually live in Manhattan, I’m not just here for a weekend trip, and oh right, this IS the same bed that was in Arlington and oh, I guess we DO need to buy paper towels. I don’t know if I’ll ever have a moment where it hits me, or if John and I will just naturally assimilate to New York life, but I suppose that’s what this blog is about: excitement, discoveries, and potential meltdowns. Like a miniature version of Jon and Kate Plus 8. Well, you know, without the kids and free stuff and abuse and 23-year old girlfriends and cameras. But other than that . . .

The point is, I really hope to keep you updated and entertained, so bug me if I don’t write often enough. If you’re new here, I really, really like ellipses and the capitalization of random words. I’m sarcastic and have a very dry sense of humor that doesn’t always work well in type, but believe me, I am very funny. If you don’t understand something, it was probably a hilarious joke, so just laugh and move on. I bake cookies. I like warm weather and taking pictures. I have a phobia of looking like a tourist. I dare anyone in New York to heckle me for wearing my Orioles hat. I’m good at Sudoku. I hope to befriend Sarah Jessica Parker.

Leave a Reply

