I Know the Heart of Life is Good

 

So yeah, the 47th week of the year. We’re in the midst of it, and it’s been a pretty good one for me. Not only did I win tickets to the Jazz at Lincoln Center Fall Gala as mentioned below, I also won tickets to see one of my very favorites, John Mayer, in concert this evening. He’ll be on Letterman tonight and after the taping will be doing a “fan only” concert at the Ed Sullivan Theater. How is this happening? Why is this happening? It certainly can’t be my karma. Maybe the Universe is trying to make up for all of the important things I haven’t won like, you know, JOBS, and let me tell you, she’s making a good effort. Now if I could just win a very large amount of money or some trips or shoes or handbags, maybe then we can truly start the healing process, Miss Universe. The ball continues to be in your court. I’ll be waiting here, as always, doing nothing.

 

So in honor of tonight, I thought I’d share a picture of me and my sister at a John Mayer concert from last year for my first “Picture Pages” post. I’ve got to come up with a new name for that. Sorry, Bill.

 

 

 

This picture is entirely unflattering, but it’s one of the few that really does capture a raw moment. I love how I am unabashedly mid-squeal, Brighid may in fact be crying while she howls, and you can just barely see John (my John), taking the picture,  who is just sort of looking at us with absolute amused bewilderment. I’ve had so many moments like this with my sister and my family, and I think they’re really the only people I truly feel comfortable enough with to be a complete squealing, singing, dork of a lunatic. When you’re seeing one of your favorite musicians play live, the first seconds you recognize the first few chords of a song that you cherish is something so thrilling that it’s difficult to explain, but I think this picture does a good job of it.

 

My sister is a huge John Mayer fan, and last year I took her to his concert as a birthday gift. The outdoor venue has cheap lawn seating, but I decided to be nice and splurge for something covered. The night of the concert, as torrential downpours turned the lawn into a Woodstock-esque mud slick, I was glad to have spent the extra money. I love John Mayer, but I don’t know if I love any musician enough to sit in a ginormous, steaming mud pie with a bunch of teenagers. Bleh. Our clothes are way too cute for that nonsense.

 

This was our first time seeing John Mayer in concert though we’ve been concert buddies for a long time. Music is so important and meaningful to us, and I think we love John Mayer (it feels weird to keep saying “John Mayer” but I don’t know if I can just call him “John” and “Mayer” doesn’t have the panache as say, “Hendrix” or “Clapton”, Mayer is like the last name of my 2nd grade teacher . . . anyway) because of his honest lyrics and ability to, in the words of my sister, “make the guitar cry”.

 

His music is sad in a lot of ways, but always kind of hopeful. His first single No Such Thing came out just as I was finishing high school and I immediately responded to the line, “I never lived the dreams of the prom kings and the drama queens, I’d like to think the best of me is still hiding up my sleeve”. Now that I’ve been out of high school for eight, almost nine, years, I do think that the best of me was and still is hiding up my sleeve, and I think the same goes for John Mayer’s music, and I love that it’s something my sister gets, too. I feel badly that she can’t make it into the city tonight for the show (even though she’ll be thisclose in Albany for a volleyball game), but I know that if I ever want to recreate that moment in the picture, it won’t be hard. Those moments are, fortunately, a dime a dozen.

5 thoughts on “I Know the Heart of Life is Good

  1. Rach says:

    Love it! And that is a PERFECT pic of you and B! (and John too 😉 )

  2. WendyD says:

    I love the unabashed joy on your faces. That’s how live music should make you feel and that’s why I go to so many concerts. I love that you get that. John is so “our” music. I didn’t realize that I’m just a year older than him for the longest time but always felt so connected to his lyrics. Maybe it’s a Libra thing 😉

    Have the best time tonight!!!!

  3. Terri says:

    Rach lets me know when you’ve been verbal…so I peaked again and read your lucky blog today….the job will come… You and your sis look so cute and the picture really captures your enthusiasm. Go girls!

  4. Lisa says:

    That was a sweet heartfelt post….hope you had a great time at the concert!

  5. Shannon says:

    I love this post! And the picture! It really does capture such an exciting moment… Words aren’t necessary to describe the feeling you get when your favorite singer starts playing live right in front of you. The photo says everything perfectly!

Leave a Reply

