Oui Oui Oui Oui All the Way Home

 

Days: 21

Countries: 7 (including Gibraltar)

Languages Spoken: 8 (including English . . . in Gibraltar)

Kilometers Driven: 4,900 (well, by John . . .)

Pictures Taken: 3,800

Passport Stamps: 7

Birthdays Celebrated: 1

Nervous Breakdowns: let’s not get into it

Euros Spent on Tolls: let’s not get into that either

Hotel Employees Who Felt My Wrath: 2

Days on the Beach: 0

Monkeys Jumped Onto Car: 6

Hottest Guys: Madrid

Hottest Girls: Sevilla

Gorgeous Things Seen: 7,382

Relationships Intact: 1

 

Welp, the fun is over. I’m back on my living room couch, laptop on my, well . . . lap, TV on, suitcase unpacked, apartment cleaned, kitty wrangled into her cage at friend’s apartment and transported back to the Upper West Side . . . all that fun stuff. Ick. It makes it a bit easier to be coming home to New York, which even though we live here seems like another destination in itself.

I’ve never been on a three week vacation, but it’s unsurprisingly not enough time and surprisingly just enough time. While I’d much love to have a few extra days in, say, Monte Carlo or Madrid, a very small part of me is glad to be back. That part is mostly my hair because one thing that Europe definitely does not do as well as the US is shower. Not that Europeans smell or anything like that, on the contrary. They just haven’t taken advantage of the modern miracle that is water-pressure. Environmental friendliness aside, I do my best thinking during nice, hot showers resembling biblical floods, and that time was cruelly stolen from me during my trip. In fact, I’m not sure that I had one single good idea the whole entire trip. I suppose the bright side of being home was today’s shower, the subsequent flushing out of my clogged genius pipe, and a bagel with cream cheese and lox.

So, trip, trip, where to begin? I guess the most logical place would be pictures. But, oh, right, we took FOUR THOUSAND of them. I’m going to have to get back to you on that one. For now, here’s our crazy final itinerary:

25 – 28 September: Berlin

28 September: arrive in Madrid, head immediately to Talavera de la Reina for the night

29 – 30 September: Lisbon

30 September – 1 October: Albufeira & Tavira in the Algarve, Portugal

2 -3 October: Sevilla, Spain (with a stop in Cadiz), overnight inTarifa

4 October: Tangier, Morocco and Gibraltar, overnight in Marbella,

5 October: drive through Marbella & Malaga, decide we don’t like it, continue on to Nerja (ahh), overnight in Valencia

6 October: Valencia, drive to Barcelona

7 – 9 October: Barcelona

9 October: Avignon, France

10 October: PARIS

11 October: San Remo and Bordighera, Italy with a night in Menton, France

12 October: Monaco with Nice and Antibes, France in the late afternoon

13 October: Cannes and Saint-Tropez, drove to Barcelona in the late afternoon (I KNOW)

14 October: drove to Madrid

15 October: Madrid

16 October: home again, home again

 

I understand that this doesn’t really look like a relaxing vacation, and compared to a week in the Caribbean, no, it wasn’t. But the quantity and quality of the trip was incredible, and I still can’t really believe everything that we saw, not to mention that there was so much of it that I’m trying not to forget! I’ll get pictures up soon and will then make sense of all the notes I scribbled throughout.

 

It was gorgeous and I really want to take a moment to publically thank John making this dream of mine happen. Besides doing every single kilometer of driving, he just made the trip so special in so many ways and I’m so glad that we got to see these places for the first time with each other. We may be thinking twice about auditioning for The Amazing Race for the time being as that’s pretty much what we’ve just been through, but I can’t think of anyone I’d rather be losing my mind with.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Oui Oui Oui Oui All the Way Home

  1. thepaulw says:

    Sounds like an awesome trip you had! Though I’m sure you could have gotten at least a quarter of your pictures up on this post.

  2. Kristy says:

    AMAZING! Can’t wait to see more pictures.
    And you are so right about the showers! It’s my 10 (um, 20) minutes of sanity everyday.

  3. Rach says:

    Glad you’re home safely, and obv. I can’t wait to see the pics…all 3,800 of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

